The unexpected joys of 100%

It occurred to me that since my first post, I haven’t put any drawings up here…

This is the finished version on the drawings I previewed in that post – a design for a character in story I’ll (hopefully) be writing in November.Every time I draw a hat, I think I should draw hats more Although some things wouldn't be improved by a hat

And then this, which will probably look weirdly bright on most monitors, because my laptop screen has a funny way of dealing with colours.
Final - Ida
In the past, I’ve always done digital art larger than it needs to be, with the intention of resizing later. Whilst this is fine for turning scans into final illustrations like the ones at the top, it’s rubbish for doing anything from scratch. Most digital drawings that I begin get abandoned part way through, usually when I zoom out from doing the details on the face, and realise that it no longer matches the body, which has really distorted proportions anyway.

This one I did entirely at 100%, with no zooming at any point. This makes things so much easier, in a ‘why did I not do this before’ way. Admittedly it’s very rough, and it wouldn’t be suitable for printing, but it’s a sketch, so I’m fine with that. It’s worth the roughness to actually finish something, and to be able to draw with all the benefits of a computer (the magic of undo! layers! a rubber that doesn’t remove the paper! I can add colour without wrecking anything! I can move and resize parts of it if I need to!).

There will be more like this…Final - Jirendel & Bensiabel

One thought on “The unexpected joys of 100%

Leave a comment